WeChat Screenshot_20210305151803.png

展览

以人为本,以史为鉴


展览的內容和设计都将秉承 <WongAvery 亚太和平教育中心> 的核心价值 - 「和平、公义、爱」,并以具有启发性和教育性的方式引导思考。

 

內容

 

所有展示的內容都基于完整性、真实性和人文价值原则进行筛选和规划。展览包括三个主要部分: 亚洲二战历史简介和概述、战争暴行及祸害、战后反思

 

设计

 

透过不同形式的设计,14个不同主题旳展厅会以创作性和教育性思维让参观者不仅能概览亚洲二战历史,并能得到启发,对战争与和平作出深刻反思。设计会以各主题的故事大纲为基础,串联文字、图片、档案文件、视频等展品,再配合不同的视觉、感官和互动效果,让参观者能留下深刻印象。

简介和概述(1 / F)

WeChat Screenshot_20210305152627.png

01

亚洲第二次世界大战概述

该展厅将展示战争的关键要素,旨在让參观者了解亚太战争的基本知识,例如时间、规模和主要的教训。本次展览將以艺术的形式展示战争的概况,并将图片、引文和数据并置,展示战争对亚太地区人民在战争期间和战争结束后的影响。

02

战前

该展厅旨在让人们了解日本是如何渴望成为亚洲的帝国主义国家、军国主义国家和殖民者,并最终导致其在整个亚洲的侵略战争。该展厅还将中韩两国战前的政治、经济状况与日本当时的政治、经济状况进行对比,以全面展示日本侵略战争的形成与发展。

2.png
3.png

03

日本军国主义和侵略

该展厅总结了日本军队从1931年占领中国东北至1945年战争结束时的侵略行为。主要战争事件将在动画式历史地图上以时间顺序展示,并将与历史纪录片并列,描绘平民对战争的恐惧 - 平民包括儿童、青年、妇女和男人。

战争暴行–反人类暴力(1 / F)
本展馆类別介绍了日本侵略亚太地区期间的残忍、暴力及反人类行为。

04

大屠杀

该展厅将展示日本军队在大屠杀中的暴行和对人性的践踏。探讨二战期间发生在亚洲的三大屠杀事件: 南京大屠杀、肃清大屠杀和马尼拉大屠杀。透过证词、历史图像和受害者个人经历展示人性的坚韧及牺牲精神。

4.png

其他资源:

 

1.第二次世界大战:被遗忘的中国战争,2015年  |  导演:林玮琪 (Vicki Lin)  |  观看视频

2.《约翰拉贝-南京大屠杀中的德国人》,2014年  |  导演:安妮特·鲍梅斯特(Annette Baumeister)|  观看视频

3.新加坡国家档案馆的口述历史故事:陈承业 (Chan Cheng Yean)|资料来源:新加坡国家档案馆  |  观看视频

4.关于“肃清”屠杀的证词   |  资料来源:新加坡国家档案馆  |  观看视频

5.马尼拉战役:第二次世界大战最致命的一场战役后的75年  |  资料来源:德意志威尔 (Deutsche Welle)|  观看影片

5.png

05

日本军队性奴隶

该展厅探讨战争中妇女遭遇的性暴力问题。透过空间设计让参观者感受到受害者的身心创伤及无助。展览还会探讨战后日本政府的掩盖和否认史实,以及受害者遭受的歧视及终生的创伤,和她们打破沉默的勇气。

其他资源:

 

1.纪录片《道歉》预告片  |  来源:公共广播服务  |  观看影片

2. Halmonis(祖母)的声音“永不忘记”  |  资料来源:大韩民国议会  |  观看影片

 

06

生化战于人体实验

该展厅探索了日本军队在战争期间其生物化学武器及人体实验的发展和使用,以及日本军队如何违反国际战俘条约,对被虏战俘作出的虐待行为。该展厅也将探讨医学伦理、反人类、种族主义和战后被掩盖的相关问题。

6.png

其他资源:

 

1.恶魔的暴食-731部队的真相,2014年  |  资料来源:中国洲际出版社五洲传媒  |  观看影片

2.报纸上的文章:揭露恐怖-特別报道。Japan Confronting Gruesome War Atrocity  |  资料来源:《纽约时报》,1995年3月17日,A节,第1页

|阅读文章

 

7.png

07

虐待战俘

该展厅描绘和探索在战俘被俘虏的情況下,日本军对战俘的大规模杀害和虐待,这是在与国际法相抵触的背景下进行的。战俘因此经历而导致的短期和长期影响以及战后的沉默的问题也将被探讨。

08

强迫劳工

探索数以百万计的中、韩平民和战俘被强征为劳工,为日本战争工业提供劳动力的情況。在严峻的工作环境和要求下,他们遭受百般的不人道虐待。展览亦会探讨战争期间的日本企业,特別是军用物资制造商的角色及其与日本政府的紧密关系。

8.png
9.png

09

亚洲二战与加拿大

 

展览通过有关加拿大人的不同故事,突出了加拿大与亚洲二战之间的联系以及种族主义的立法相关问题:

  • 加拿大媒体和政府对亚洲二战的回应

  • 在香港作战并被囚禁的加拿大年轻人

  • 在需要时自愿参加加拿大战争的华裔加拿大人

  • 在家乡被拘留的日裔加拿大人

10

日本转为防御

本展厅重点讨论日本侵略转为防御性的时期-东京和其他日本城市遭受炸弹袭击,冲绳之战,神风队战士,原子弹和投降。受害者的个人故事以及人员伤亡的规模将说明“战争中没有胜利者”这一信息。

10.png

战后(2 / F)
本展馆类别探讨冲战争结束到現在,亞洲和西方的战后对策。伸张正义,对历史的否认和记忆的影响都与在侵略国家和受害国之间寻求和平与和解有关。战后的全球政治,社会和经济发展有助于将战后的应对情境化。

11.png

11

战后公义

探讨战争结束后的战争审判,和解条约和战争责任诉讼。战后和约的不公及推诿战争责任试图抹杀日本帝国军队的残酷历史和战争罪行。该展厅同时探讨基于战后的政治因素,美国及同盟对公义的双重标准。类似问题如“有真正的结局吗?”以及“受害者的正义得到伸张了吗?”将会被探讨。

12

否定战争罪行

探讨日本政府和极端民族主义者否定战争事实和罪行的自相矛盾行为,以及分析在美国和盟国政府的支持下掩盖战争罪行的原因。

12.png
13.png

13

记忆

探讨这段历史在战后的政治、学术、教育各领域被遗忘及被重拾的过程。会重点介绍和感谢为保存这段历史记忆的过程中曾努力付出的个人和团体。

14

反思

提供一个空间让参观者思考和反思他们从博物馆展览中看到和学到的东西。鼓励他们以不同的形式留下反馈和评论。

14.png

WeChat Screenshot_20210305151803.png

Exhibit Galleries

Both exhibit contents and design will be engaging, representational, and educational.

 

Content

The exhibition is comprised of three major components: Introduction and Overview, the scourges of war, and post-war reflections. All research-based contents will be curated using the principles of authenticity and humanity values while achieving its educational goals.

 

Exhibit Design

Through digital media, photos, documents, and artefacts, visitors will not only gain an overview of WWII in Asia but also a better understanding of humanity through different human stories and reflections. In both design and curation, the Asia-Pacific Peace Museum will explore creative ways of displaying the scourges of war in an attempt to inspire and engage visitors to reflect and take actions in pursuit of peace and reconciliation.

Introduction & Overview  (1/F)

WeChat Screenshot_20210305152627.png

01

Overview of World War II in Asia

This gallery highlights the key elements of the War, aiming to provide the visitors some basic knowledge of the Asia-Pacific War such as the time, scale and major lessons to learn. The overview of the war will be presented through an artistic display of images, quotes and statistics juxtaposed to demonstrate its impact on the people across Asia-Pacific during and after the war years.

02

Pre-War

This gallery aims at providing an understanding of how Japan was aspired to become an imperial power, a militarist state and colonizer in Asia, which finally led to its war of aggression throughout Asia.  Pre-war political and economic conditions of China and Korea will be juxtaposed with those of Japan in providing a comprehensive understanding of how Japan’s aggression progressed.

2.png
3.png

03

Japanese Militarism and Aggression

This gallery summarizes the aggression of the Japanese Military starting from its occupation of NE China from 1931 to 1945, the end of the war. Major war events will be depicted on animated historical maps in chronological order juxtaposed with historical documentaries in depicting the fear and horror of war on civilians – children, youth, women and men alike.

Scourges of War – Violence Against Humanity (1/F)

This section identifies the brutal and violent acts against humanity during the years of Japanese aggression in Asia Pacific region.

04

Massacres

This gallery depicts the brutality and humiliation against humanity during the massacres inflicted by the Japanese military.  Three major massacres - the Nanjing Massacre, Sook Ching Massacre, and Manila Massacre are highlighted in this gallery. While providing the scale of death and casualty, primary sources and testimonies will be used to exemplify the intensity and extensiveness of violence inflicted upon civilians. Stories depicting the suffering, human tenacity to survive and courage to help others will be highlighted to flicker a ray of hope in darkness.

4.png

Additional Resources:

 

1. World War II: China's Forgotten War, 2015  |  Director: Vicki Lin  |  View the video

2. John Rabe: The Good Nazi of Nanking, 2014  |  Director: Annette Baumeister  |  View the video

3. National Archives of Singapore Oral History Story: Chan Cheng Yean  |  Source: National Archives of Singapore  |  View the video

4. Witness statement concerning ‘sook ching’ massacre  |  Source: National Archives of Singapore  |  View the video

5. The Battle of Manila: 75 years after one of WWII's deadliest battles  |  Source: Deutsche Welle  |  View the video

5.png

05

Japanese Military Sexual Slavery

This gallery aims to bring out the issues of systemic sexual violence against young women during the war years and throughout the region of invasion. In portraying the personal stories of the victims and the oppressive conditions and environment of they had to endure, visitors will be engaged emotionally in their pain and sufferings. The gallery also explores how the post-war cover-up and denial led to life-long traumas to the women, and their courage to break the silence.

Additional Resources:

 

1. Documentary “The Apology” trailer   |  Source: Public Broadcasting Service  |  View the video

2. Halmonis(Grandma)' voices "Never forget"  |  Source: The Korea Council  |  View the video

06

Biochemical Warfare and Human Experimentation

This gallery explores the development and use of biological and chemical weapons and human experimentation by the Japanese military during the war. Questions about medical ethics, dehumanization, racism and the post-war cover-up will be explored.

6.png

Additional Resources:

 

1. The Devil’s Gluttony – the Truth of Unit 731 Unveiled, 2014   |  Source: China Intercontinental Press五洲传媒  |  View the video

2. Newspaper article: Unmasking Horror -- A special report.; Japan Confronting Gruesome War Atrocity  |  Source: The New York Times, March 17, 1995, Section A, Page 1 |  Read the article

7.png

07

Prisoners of War

This gallery portrays and explores the mass killing and ill-treatment of the prisoners of war while in captivity by the Japanese military, contextualized against international rule of law. Questions on the immediate and long-term impact on the POWs and post-war silence will be raised.

08

Forced Labour

This gallery examines the mobilization of both vulnerable civilians and prisoners of war into slave labourers, documenting the dire conditions and abuse they experienced. The role and responsibilities of Japanese corporations particularly the manufacturers of military supplies, and their correlation with the government will be examined.

8.png
9.png

09

Canada at War

 

This gallery highlights the connection between Canada and World War II in Asia and the issues of legislated racism through different stories of Canadians involved:

  • The response of Canadian media and government to WWII in Asia

  • Young Canadians who fought in Hong Kong and suffered in captivity

  • Chinese Canadians who volunteered to go to war for Canada when the need arose

  • Japanese Canadians who were interned in their homeland

10

Japan Turned Defensive

This section focuses on the period when Japan’s aggression turned defensive - the firebombing of Tokyo and other Japanese cities, the Battle of Okinawa, Kamikaze fighters, the Atomic Bombs and the Surrender. Personal stories of the victims and the scale of casualty and death will exemplify the message “In war, there is no winner”.

10.png

Post War (2/F)

This section explores the post-war responses in Asia and the West from the end of the war to current days.   The impact of justice served, historical denial and memory are all related to the pursuit of peace and reconciliation between the perpetrating and victimized states. Global political, social and economic development after the war help contextualise the post-war response.

11.png

11

Justice

This gallery explores the war trials, treaties and lawsuits after the war till today that were attempted to put a closure to the atrocious history and the war crimes of the Japanese Imperial Army.  Questions like “was there a real closure?” and “has justice been served for the victims?” will be examined.

12

Denial

This gallery explores the phenomenon of “apology” and the contradictory acts of denial by the Japanese government and ultra-nationalists, the cover-up of war crimes with the support of the American and Allied governments, and why.

12.png
13.png

13

Memory

This gallery explores how the Asia-Pacific war has been forgotten and remembered in political, academic, education and social justice aspects in different parts of the world.  Individuals and groups that are pivotal in the remembrance, peace and reconciliation movements will be honored as they are voices for those who were silenced, dismissed, and denied.

14

Reflection

Visitors will be invited to have a quiet time to contemplate and reflect on what they see and learn from the permanent exhibits.

14.png